The gluten-free foods for celiacs are increasingly common in shops and restaurants, but you have to pay attention to the composition thereof to avoid any harm to our body. We tell you which are the healthiest and those that you should avoid. Many of them will surprise you, do not lose track of what we share with you in the next few lines.
Celiac disease affects the immune system, so people who suffer from it cannot consume gluten, as this substance damages their small intestine. That’s why you have to bet on gluten-free foods, since other products can lead to annoying symptoms like diarrhea, abdominal pain and even influence your mood. It is a genetic pathology that affects approximately 1% of the American population, according to data from the American Celiac Society.
What is gluten?
Gluten is a glycoprotein present in wheat, oats, rye and barley, which is also part of some medications and vitamin supplements. It acts as a binding element, joining the ingredients in many food products (especially confectionery) and providing an elastic consistency to the masses. This is thanks to its emulsifying and gelling properties.
List of gluten-free foods
Although there is still a long way to go in this regard, the truth is that large supermarket chains are increasingly including products suitable for celiac in their catalogs. In the following list you have the main gluten-free foods:
- Non-flavored milk and dairy products: butter, cured cheese, margarine, cream, yogurt, curd, etc.
- Meat and sausages.
- Fish fresh and frozen without batter and canned seafood in oil or natural.
- Vegetables and legumes.
- Sugar and honey.
- Salt, pepper, vinegar, and oil.
- Wines and carbonated drinks
- Raw nuts.
- Yeasts without gluten.
- Rice, corn, tapioca and its derivatives.
- Non-instant coffee and tea and infusions.
However, it is important to read the package carefully to make sure there is no added gluten.
You may also like to read: 6 foods you can consume to control your food cravings
Foods That Contain Gluten and You Should Avoid
The products named below should be avoided by anyone with celiac disease or any type of intolerance to this substance.
- Bread, wheat flour, barley, rye, and oats.
- Pastry and confectionery products.
- Dried figs.
- Beverages distilled or fermented like beer.
- Soup pastes.
On the other hand, there are foods that do not contain gluten by nature, but which can be added during the process of preparation for marketing. These are sausages, pâtés, cheeses, cans of preserves, sauces and condiments, sweets, substitutes for coffee, cocoa, and chocolate, food colorings, ice cream and nuts.
Does gluten get fat?
There is a widely held false belief that gluten-free foods have fewer calories, to the extent that celebrities like Lady Gaga or Gwyneth Paltrow have adopted a diet free of this substance to stay in line.
But the truth is that gluten itself does not fatten, but most of the foods made with it, such as buns, cookies, and tarts. Really, to lose weight we do not have to totally suppress gluten from our diet, but rather consume low-calorie foods.
We hope this information on gluten-free foods has been helpful. If you know more food or are celiac and want to tell us the problems you have when it comes to finding this type of food do not forget to leave us your comment.
Rashed Ahmed regularly contributes to lifestyle magazine online and living ideas to various blogs around the web. When he’s not busy working with the work, you will find him undertaking many of her own lifestyle-related topics and living ideas! He has a lot of dreams. He works hard to fulfill his dreams. He loves to share his ideas, tricks, tips, and information by blogging. He also works at innovative business ideas, a business marketing company that committed to helping businesses with online marketing.